Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Adair Fiscal Court meeting, 10 Nov 2016 - report

  • Another attempt to pass Sunday ABC Sales in the County fails on tie vote
  • Change in Continuity of Government approved; Deputy CJE Andrea Waggener second in line of continuity in event of disability, absence of CJE
  • Jail report approved
  • Treasurer Melinda Quinn's report received

Click on complete headline for complete report

By Ed Waggener

The Adair County Fiscal Court failed to pass Sunday alcohol sales yet another time, when the issue was raised again in a special called meeting at 1pmCT, Thursday, November 10, 2016.

County Judge Executive Michael Lee Stephens again recommended the move which would place County ABC on an equal footing with rules already in place in the City of Columbia. The matter failed in a tie vote, with Magistrates Harold Burton (1), Sammy Baker (3), Perry Reeder (4) and Billy Dean Coffey (5) against, deadlocked in a 4-4 tie, with Magistrates Daryl Flatt (2), Greg Caldwell (6), Terry Hadley (7) and CJE Mike Stephens voting in favor. The vote followed a motion by Terry Hadley with a second by Gregg Caldwell.

Treasurer reports cash balance of $1,718,133.25 end of October

Adair County Treasurer Melinda Quinn's treasurer's report was received unanimously. She reported a strong cash position, $1,718,133.25 cash in all county funds.

The court also approved if needed transfers of funds approval requested by Treasurer Quinn.

In another financial matter, the court approved disbursements as presented. The October disbursements included payment for two new sheriff's department prowlers, paid for with LGEA (Local Government Economic Assistance) funds.

Deputy Judge Andrea Waggener will be second in County Continuity of Government

The court gave unanimous approval to a Continuity of Government resolution which named recently appointed Deputy County Judge Executive Andrea Waggener as the second in line of succession in the absence or disability of the County Judge Executive. The action came on a motion by Magistrate Billy Dean Coffey (5), with a second by Greg Caldwell.

Joey White's Jail report approved

The court unanimously accepted the report of Adair County Regional Jailer Joey White, who reported gross receipts in October of $128,558.96. That figure, with adjustments of $54,688.30 for Adair County inmates deducted, and additions of $1,718.77 booking fees, $234 in medical payments, $4,019.50 other income, $530.42 per diem, and $658 home incarcerations fees, left a balance to collect of $81,031.83.

Adair County Restricted Custody Center contributed 3,056 hours to the following agencies: Adair County Recycling, Adair County Road Department, Green River Animal Shelter, Center on Aging, City of Columbia Maintenance, Columbia Sanitation, Adair Couty Pride litter pick up, and Cumberland County Fiscal Court, recycling and water treatment. At $8 per hour, the labor was valued at $24,448, Jailer White reported. Attendance Attending the meeting, in addition to some gallery members not named, were CJE Michael Lee Stephens, Magistrates Harold Burton, Daryl Flatt, Sammy Baker, Perry Reeder, Billy Dean Coffey, Greg Caldwell, and Terry Hadley; Deputy CJE Andrea Waggener, Gale Cowan, as session recorder; Adair County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison-Corbin, Treasurer Melinda Quinn, Jailer Joey White, Sheriff Harrison Moss, and members of the media.
End of Report for Special Called meeting, Thu 10 Nov 2016 2016

Regular monthly Adair County Fiscal Court meetings are held at 6pmCT, each second Tuesday, in the basement of the Adair Annex, 424 Public Square, Columbia, KY. The meetings are open to the public.

Adair County Judge Executive Mike Stephens
421 Public Square, Suite 1, Columbia, KY 42728
Phone 270-384-4703; Fax 270-384-9754

  • Adair County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison-Corbin (2000)
  • Adair County Coroner Todd Akin (20011
  • Adair County Court Clerk Lisa Greer (2007)
  • Adair County Circuit Court Clerk Dennis Loy
  • Adair County Jailer Joey White (2011)
  • Adair County PVA Jeff Feese
  • Adair County Sheriff Harrison Moss
  • Adair County Surveyor Mike McKinney

  • County Judge Executive Mike Stephens (2007) is a voting member of Fiscal Court and may vote on all proposals before the court; Office:Adair Courthouse Annex
Magistrates on the Adair County Fiscal Court:
  • District 1: Harold Burton (2011)
  • District 2: Daryl Flatt (2011)
  • District 3: Sammy Baker (2007)
  • District 4: Perry Reeder (2007)
  • District 5: Billy Dean Coffey (Feb. 2005) (270) 384-4201
  • District 6: Greg Caldwell (2015)
  • District 7:Terry Hadley (2015)
Adair County Constables
  • District 1: William "Bill" Troutwine
  • District 2: Shannon Rowe (2011)
  • District 3: Robert R. Loy
  • District 4: Ed Wigal (2011)
  • District 5: Tim Bottoms
  • District 6: Jason T. Rector
  • District 7: Joe Collins, Jr.

  • Adair County Finance Officer, Fiscal Court Clerk Gale Cowan
  • Adair County Deputy Judge Executive Andrea Waggener
  • Adair County Mapping and Addressing Coordinator. (Name to be added)
  • Adair County 911 Supervisor: Jason Upchurch
  • Adair Co. Disaster Management Coordinator Mike Keltner
  • Adair County Treasurer Barry Corbin
  • Adair County Roads Foreman Terry Corbin
  • Adair County Dog Warden Jimmy Harmon
  • Adair County Solid Waste Coordinator Jeremy Garmon

Click Here to check other announcements in the Events calendar.

This story was posted on 2016-11-16 10:53:29
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.