Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Vote Totals Certified in 2015 Primary Election

State Board of Elections Certifies Primary Election Vote Totals and Issues Certificates of Nomination. A statewide recanvass did not change the results in that race, or in the Republican Primary for Commissioner of Agriculture.

By Lynn Sowards Zellen
Director of Communications, Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes

Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes, Kentucky's chief election official, announced that today the State Board of Elections certified vote totals from the May 19 Primary Election and issued certificates of nomination to candidates who received the highest number of votes in the Primary. Detailed results from the election are available at

Nearly 400,000 Kentuckians, approximately 12.6 percent of registered voters, cast ballots in the Primary. The results were extremely close in the Republican Primary for Governor/Lieutenant Governor, with nominees Matt Bevin/Jenean Hampton receiving only 83 more votes than James Comer/Chris McDaniel. A statewide recanvass did not change the results in that race, or in the Republican Primary for Commissioner of Agriculture.

"This election was truly historical," said Grimes. "I'm grateful to all of the elected officials and thousands of citizens who worked hard to ensure that candidates and voters alike could be confident in the fairness and results of the Primary. I look forward to continuing to work together to prepare for the General Election on November 3rd."

Party nominees for statewide constitutional offices that will appear on the November 3 General Election ballot are:

Governor/Lieutenant Governor
  • Republican Nominee: Matt Bevin/Jenean Hampton
  • Democrat Nominee: Jack Conway/Sannie Overly
Secretary of State
  • Republican Nominee: Stephen L. Knipper
  • Democrat Nominee: Alison Lundergan Grimes
Attorney General
  • Republican Nominee:Whitney H. Westerfield
  • Democrat Nominee: Andy Beshear
Auditor of Public Accounts
  • Republican Nominee:Mike Harmon
  • Democrat Nominee: Adam H. Edelen
State Treasurer
  • Republican Nominee:Allison Ball
  • Democrat Nominee: Rick Nelson
Commissioner of Agriculture
  • Republican Nominee:Ryan Quarles
  • Democrat Nominee: Jean-Marie Lawson Spann
Independent, political organization and political group candidates were required to file a statement of candidacy with the Secretary of State's office no later than April 1 and must file their petitions no later than August 11 at 4:00 p.m., Eastern Time.

This story was posted on 2015-06-09 11:06:31
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.