Everything for Your Home's
Beauty, Comfort & Convenience 384-2123
704 Jamestown St, Columbia
Dr. Ronald P. Rogers
Support for your body's natural healing capabilities
Click here for details
Columbia Walmart Supercenter
Open 24 Hours
Click here for information
Real Estate & Auction Co.
Duo County Telecom
Now Available Through
Your Cable Service!
GUN & PAWN
What's Going On
Info about the
Janice Holt Giles
and Henry Giles Society
Columbia Gas Dept.
GAS LEAK or GAS SMELL
24 hrs/ 365 days
270-384-2006 or 9-1-1
Call before you dig
Directory of Churches
phone numbers and more
for churches in Adair County
JIM: New Adair Hotel went by many names in 79 year history
Whatever the badge, whatever day in its history, it was always first class. The kind of place which would, of itself, become a destination; which would have have Canadian tour busses backed up from Burkesviile Street, Columbia, KY to British Columbia, Jim says, taking a 'Waggenerian flight from reality' -EW
During the course of its 79 years of existence, the New Adair went by many names. It opened in late November, 1898 as the Conover Hotel, Mr. John N. Conover, the owner, having contracted with Messrs. Davis & Moss of Glasgow to do the work. In the spring of 1898 the News commented that "The exact sum Mr. Conover is to pay has not been made public, but it is said to be six thousand dollars."
In subsequent years it was known as the Marcum, the Columbia, the Hancock (not to be confused with the Hancock Hotel on Burkesville Street!), the Columbia (again), the Jeffries, the Miller, and finally, in the late 1930s, the New Adair Hotel.
In an article announcing the forthcoming "magnificent structure," the November 24th, 1897 paper stated that "It will contain twenty-eight rooms and will front the square and Greensburg street. It will be built upon a modern plan. It will have a dome and the public room will be on the corner of the square and Greensburg street." (A later announcement stated there would be 30 rooms.)
Over the course of the next several months, occasional updates appeared in the paper, most notably of Mr. Conover's decision to build a brick rather than a frame structure.
A few days before the hotel opened in the fall of 1898, the News reported that
We went through the building a few days ago and the inside work like the outside, is first-class in every particular. The stairways are perfect beauties--all hardwood finish. The other work has not been slighted in the least; and not only the proprietor, but the citizens of the town generally should be proud of this building...
There is no sign of shoddy work inside or out. Every joint fits tight and the doors swing clear. Mr. Davis is an architect and the above mentioned Hotel verifies his ability and skill for designing such a neat and convenient building in all its parts. This building will stand as a monument to the memory of Davis & Moss as well as to that of its owner, John N. Conover.
Another edition stated that "An itinerant painter is doing some nice sign work about town. The lettering 'Conover Hotel 1898,' is quite prominent, and the smaller signs are very attractive."
The exact date the Conover Hotel received its first guests isn't known, but the November 30, 1898 News wasted no words with this terse announcement: "The new hotel is now open."
The next evening, December 1st, the formal opening was held with the Twentieth Century Club, "an organization composed of the cream of the young gentlemen of Columbia," hosting the gala, pronounced in advance as "the most elegant affair ever gotten up in Columbia."
Gushed the News in the lead paragraph of a lengthy article in the December 7th edition, "No more attractive event was ever before held in Columbia, and the crowd, distinguished for its culture, refinement and gaiety, almost filled the spacious corridors and elegant apartments."
Continued the article,
The table was laden with choice and delicious fruits, from the middle of which a beautiful parlor lamp effused a radiating light. Extending lengthwise the wall, fronting the entrance to the banquet hall, the initials "T.C.C.," the monogram of the Twentieth Century Club, encased with wreaths of entwining holly, on a background of snowy swiss, cast a scintillating ray, as if of welcome, to the appreciative and invited guests. Jardiniers of beautiful tropical palms studded the room also, and added effectively to the charming decorations...
The young ladies were all elegantly costumed, many attractive and unique colors, fashionably made, being in evidence.
The News described the attire & accessories of each and every lady who graced the occasion with her presence. For examples, Miss Fannie Garnett wore "white Paris muslin over white silk, white chrysanthemums;" Miss Sallie Rey Marcum, "blue silk and black satin;" and and Myrtle Staples, "dark green silk bodice and black brocaded skirt, jewels."
That December night nearly fivescore and thirteen years ago, 47 young men, 56 young ladies, eight matrons, and seven married couples enjoyed the food, fun, and festivities. Thus spake the News in summary of the event: "The members of the Twentieth Century Club have smothered themselves with glory, and have added another brilliant gem to their already large list of social successes."
As soon as the hotel opened, Mr. W.T. Price removed his tonsorial parlor there from his quarters over the Paull Drug Store and invited customers to come by his new digs to be divested of their whiskers.
Some of the proprietors & managers through 1910 were George "Root" Coffey & wife; Mrs. Kate Smith; Mr. M.H. Marcum, and upon his death in 1904, his widow, Martha; J.D. Barbee; Mrs. L. C. Hurt, "hostess and manager of the culinary affairs;" Jo H. Smith and Geo. H. Nell & wife, the latter in charge of things culinary; Mrs. Puss Pursley and daughters, the Misses Carrie & Clara, of far-off Edmonton, in charge of the culinary department and dining-room; Coy E. Dudgeon; Junius Hancock; H.A. (Allen) Walker & wife; and Mr. J.P. Jasper, late of Springfield, Ill.
Compiled by "Jim."
This story was posted on 2011-08-04 05:55:01
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.
To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.
More articles from topic Jim: History:
JIM: The put-upon politician
JIM: The new Providence Baptist Church building, 1906
JIM: Do You Know? About Owens-Buckner duel
JIM: The dead arose
JIM: Man's humanity to Man: a Civil War tale of compassion
JIM: The mystery of Columbia's Vanished Silent City
JIM: Remembering an old friend, Kenneth Bernard
JIM: The Burton-Settle Duel of 1850
JIM: News from 100 years ago June 1911: James Garnett wins
JIM: Garlin, KY coming to the front, 1919
View even more articles in topic Jim: History
Click for Info
Bank of Columbia
If You're Thinking of Selling,
Let Us Do the Yelling
Principal Broker & Auctioneer
Burton Real Estate
& Auction Service
Call Us For Appraisals
Click for Listings
On This Site
or Click Here
Columbia in the Movies
from the archives of
Click for Stories
The Best of
Local Stories of
The Greatest Generation
Order Book or e-Book
See who's celebrating
Birthdays and Anniversaries
Special Events List
Find Great Stuff in
Antiques, Help Wanted,
Autos, Real Estate,
Legal Notices, More...
ColumbiaMagazine.com content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Contact us: Columbia Magazine and columbiamagazine.com are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.