Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Ballot positions for local races decided

By Ed Waggener

Ballot positions for contested local races were decided with a drawing Thursday, August 14, 2008 in the office of Adair County Court Clerk Sheila Blair. Incumbent School Board Member Marsha Walker drew the top spot in District 2. Incumbent City Councillor Linda Waggener drew the top position in the City Council race. Incumbent School Board Members Floyd Burton, District 4, and Michael L. Harris, District 5 and are unopposed.

For Adair County School Board, District 2:
  1. Marsha Walker, incumbent
  2. Charles G. Miller
For Columbia City Council:
  1. Linda Waggener, Incumbent
  2. Edwin Taylor, Incumbent
  3. Cynthia Jane Rowe
  4. Charles Grimsley, Incumbent
  5. Craig Dean, Incumbent
  6. June Parson, Incumbent
  7. Joe A. Moore, Incumbent
  8. Anthony "Tony" Grider
One write in candidate, Joe Collins,, has filed for the open Constable Position in District 7. The four incumbents running for relection on the Soil and Water Conservation District Board, Vince Pfefferman, John F. Arnold, Judith Goodin, and James E. Bennett, are unopposed in the non-partisan race and will not be on the ballot.

This story was posted on 2008-08-18 15:27:57
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.