Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Adair County competing for two of six 2006 PRIDE Envi Awards

Adair only county with two nominees; only 15 of 38 counties represented among the Envi finalists; winners to be named May 8 at the Center, Somerset
An Adair County environmental leader and Adair County High School are among 16 competitors for six 2006 Envi Awards.

Adair County High School and A.L. Sinclair have been nominated for 2006 Eastern Kentucky PRIDE Awards, which will announced May 8 in Somerset

With 38 counties in the PRIDE area, Adair County is very well represented in the competition.

Only 15 counties are represented among the finalists, who were announced Monday, April 24, 2006, in Somerset, by Richard Thomas, Executive Director of Eastern Kentucky PRIDE.

Adair County is the only county with two nominees on the list.

Adair County High is a finalist for PRIDE Campus of the Year

Adair County is one of three high school campus competing for the title. The other two are Letcher County Central High School and Corbin High School in Whitley County.

A.L. Sinclair will be competing with Darlene Thacker of Pike County and Deb Bledsoe of Rockcastle for PRIDE'S prestigious Rogers-Bickford Environmental Leadership Award.

Sinclair is the Adair County Solid Waste Coordinator and as volunteered as Adair County's PRIDE coordinator since 1997.

Sinclair, ACHS to be on Tv

Videographers recently visited Adair County High to document the schools environmental education projects and were also here to film Sinclair's environmental projects in Adair County.

The videos will be featured during the Envi Awards ceremony, which will be recorded for television. Hazards WYMT-TV will broadcast the Envi Awards June 12 at 7 p.m. ET, and Kentucky Educational Television (KET) will air the show June 13 at 8 p.m. ET.

The award winners will be announced May 8 at the Envi Awards ceremony at The Center for Rural Development in Somerset. A group of students and teachers from Adair County High School will attend the event.

Complete list of nominees
Elementary School Campus of the Year
Prestonsburg Elementary School (Floyd County)
Southside Elementary School (Lee County)
Botts Elementary School (Menifee County)
Middle School Campus of the Year
North Laurel Middle School (Laurel County)
Roy G. Eversole Middle School (Perry County)
Russell County Middle School
High School Campus of the Year
Letcher County Central High School
Adair County High School
Corbin High School (Whitley County)
College/Community Project of the Year (winner)
McCreary County Extension Service
Tony Turner Volunteer of the Year Award
Lakis Mavinidis (Harlan County)
Kiwanis Club of Paintsville (Johnson County)
Cory Gearlds (Monroe County)
Rogers-Bickford Environmental Leadership Award
Darlene Thacker, Friends of Fishtrap Lake (Pike County)
A.L. Sinclair, Adair County Solid Waste Coordinator
Deb Bledsoe, Appalachia - Science in the Public Interest (Rockcastle County)

Acronym PRIDE explained

The Envi Awards honor the individuals and organizations that excelled during the year at pursuing the PRIDE mission Personal Responsibility In A Desirable Environment. The Campus of the Year Awards recognize an elementary, middle and high school for projects that incorporated hands-on environmental learning, were tied to state curriculum guidelines, and showed creativity and community involvement.

Organization serves 38 counties in southeastern Kentucky

PRIDE serves 38 counties in southern and eastern Kentucky. The organization links citizens with the resources of local, state and federal agencies to clean up the regions waterways, end illegal trash dumps and promote environmental education and awareness. PRIDE is funded by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

This story was posted on 2006-04-25 05:51:43
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.