Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Local candidates set for November Election

By Pen Waggener

Filing to be a candidate in the November 8, 2022 Kentucky General Election closed at 4pmCT on Tuesday, June 7, 2022. A number of County offices were decided at filing or in the May Primary. However, there is intense competition for City Council positions this year, in addition to races for County Jailer, Magistrates and Constable.

Two candidates will vie for the office of Mayor of Columbia:
  • Incumbent Mayor Pamela Hoots
  • Former Mayor Curtis Hardwick

Eleven candidates will compete for City Council. All six current City Council members have filed for reelection and five more candidates have filed to join the race.

Current City Council members:
  • Ronald Butch Rogers
  • Mark Harris
  • Sharon Payne
  • Robert Flowers
  • Craig Dean
  • Linda Waggener
Joining the race:
  • Charles Grimsley
  • Natalie Marcum
  • Mike Robertson
  • Rhonda Loy
  • Hannah Peck

Adair County Jailer candidates will be:
  • Jeremy Wethington
  • Jamie Richard

District 3 Magistrate candidates will be:
  • Sammy Baker
  • Benjamin "Ben" Loy

District 3 Constable candidates will be:
  • Ken Hill
  • Brandon Nokes

District 5 Magistrate candidates will be:
  • Billy Coffey
  • Jason Grider

The three individuals running for election to the Soil and Water Conservation District Board, Julie Day, Danny Wilkinson and Jay Melton, are unopposed in the non-partisan race and will not be on the ballot.

There were no additional filings by independent candidates for the following offices, confirming:
  • Adair County Judge Executive: Larry Russell Bryant
  • Adair County Clerk: Lisa Greer
  • Adair County Attorney: Jennifer Hutchison Corbin
  • Adair County PVA: Landon Edwards
  • Adair County Sheriff: Josh Brockman
  • District 1 Magistrate: Tony Denton
  • District 2 Magistrate: Daryl Flatt
  • District 4 Magistrate: Chris Reeder
  • District 6 Magistrate: Ronald Mark Humphress
  • District 7 Magistrate: Terry Hadley
  • Adair County Coroner: Roger Huckaby, Jr.
  • District 1 Constable: William "Bill" Troutwine
  • District 4 Constable: Jeff Dickson
  • District 5 Constable: Tim Bottoms
  • District 6 Constable: Jason Rector
  • District 7 Constable: Joe Collins, Jr.
  • County Surveyor: Michael E. McKinney
  • School Board District 1: Terry Harvey
  • School Board District 3: Destiny Greer

This story was posted on 2022-06-08 10:12:55
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

Speaking of the election - I'm still mad about Sarge

2022-06-08 - Frankfort, KY .
All the candidates have filed and the race is on for final choices in the General Election to see who the leaders of the next few years will be -- but I'm still mad about loosing Sarge Pollock (pictured in lower left of Renee Shaw's coverage of the Kentucky Legislature on KET.)

Adair County lost over $20,000 in the special election to make him our Representative only to lose him in redistricting. Just seems wrong to me. Majority rules, however, so I'll give myself an attitude adjustment and look forward to meeting his replacement. - LW

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.