Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

The new political landscape in South Central Kentucky

House Bill 2 seems to have changed the political geography of Adair and surrounding counties. The new map was vetoed by the Governor, but his veto was quickly overridden. The bill became law in late January without the Governor's signature. However, the first legal challenge to the redistricted map was filed in Franklin Circuit Court almost immediately by the Kentucky Democratic Party.

Redistricting is common after a census, and lawsuits about redistricting are not entirely uncommon. The Kentucky legislature enacted a new map on Jan 31, 2002, after the 2000 census, and these became law without challenge. In 2012, a new legislative map was signed by the Governor but then was successfully challenged in court. As a result, 2012 Kentucky elections took place under the 2002 map, and a new map was passed on Aug. 23, 2013. (For an in-depth look at 21st Century redistricting in Kentucky, see

According to the new law, Adair and surrounding counties are spread among the following five districts:
  • District 21 - Adair, Cumberland, Metcalfe, Monroe
  • District 24 - Green, Hart, Larue
  • District 51 - Marion, Taylor
  • District 54 - Boyle, Casey
  • District 83 - Clinton, part of Pulaski, Russell

District 21 is currently represented by Bart Rowland (R) of Tompkinsville, who has served since 2012, but did not file for reelection this year. Sarge Pollock, who Adair County voters selected in the 2021 Special Election, would represent Taylor and Marion Counties in the new version of District 51.

This story was posted on 2022-02-01 09:42:25
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

The new political landscape

2022-02-01 - Frankfort, KY - Photo courtesy LRC.
The new state legislative district boundaries for Adair and surrounding counties, as of late January 2022. Under the new map, Adair County will be part of District 21, along with Cumberland, Metcalfe, and Monroe Counties.

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.