Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Hannie, Morgan are KSP Telecom Academy Valedictorians

By Tpr. Matt Sudduth

Frankfort, KY - On Friday, October 15, 2021, Gov. Andy Beshear and the Kentucky State Police announced that 16 telecommunicators representing 11 posts located throughout the commonwealth have graduated KSP's in-house telecommunications academy.

Among the graduates were Abigale Morgan, Sydney Perkins, and Shawna Hannie from Post 15 in Columbia.

This year's Charlotte Tanner Valedictorian Award has been awarded to Shawna Hannie and Abigale Morgan, who will share the honor of valedictorian with grade point averages of 98.25%.

"Today's telecommunicator graduates will be hearing from our community members, often on the worst days of their lives. Whether that caller is experiencing a personal trauma, or during the illness, injury or loss of a loved one, I know our newest telecommunicators will work hard to be a calm voice amidst chaos, providing comfort and instruction until help arrives," said Gov. Beshear. "To all of you who graduate today and join Team Kentucky, thank you. Kentucky will be safer because of your service and dedication."

Present-day emergency services communication centers require several qualities and characteristics that are imperative, including the ability to handle high stress, challenging conditions; flexible work schedules; empathy toward others and the ability to learn and adapt, especially in areas of technology.

The graduates of Class 18 received 196 hours of instruction over five weeks. Major training areas include legal liability, limits of telecommunicator authority, telecommunicator's role in public safety, interpersonal communications, customer service, combating stress, ethics and confidentiality, responder safety, essential fire dispatch, state emergency operations plans, criminal justice information systems, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, first aid training, emergency medical dispatch and special needs callers.

During the academy, gradutes were required to successfully process scripted calls for service and demonstrate proficiency in obtaining pertinent information, dispatching responders, providing emergency medical dispatch if needed and correctly documenting information from the call for assistance. The training concluded with a computer simulation system that simulates a real-life work environment in the radio room.

"Across the state, KSP telecommunicators provide a lifeline to both citizens in need and responders in the field," says Jason Long, KSP Telecommunications Training Instructor. "They serve as an unseen but vital link in keeping law enforcement officers, responder, and the public safe at all times, day or night."

Class 18 graduates and their assigned posts are:
  • Ashley Holt, Post 1, Mayfield
  • Emily Wallace, Post 1, Mayfield
  • Lauren Hanner, Post 3, Bowling Green
  • Jade Puckett, Post 3, Bowling Green
  • Erin Benton, Post 5, Campbellsburg
  • Josiah Turner, Post 6, Dry Ridge
  • Michael Powers, Post 7, Richmond
  • Lauren Webb, Post 7, Richmond
  • Tabor Wright, Post 8, Morehead
  • Carrigan Rowe, Post 9, Pikeville
  • Abilene Steward, Post 12, Frankfort
  • Alden Bowling, Post 13, Hazard
  • Maribeth Housey, Post 14, Ashland
  • Abigale Morgan, Post 15, Columbia
  • Sydney Perkins, Post 15, Columbia
  • Shawna Hannie, Post 15, Columbia
At the conclusion of each class, the 'Charlotte Tanner Valedictorian' Award is presented to the graduate who earned the highest class GPA and demonstrated extraordinary effort during the KSP Telecommunications Academy. The award is named in honor of the founder of the KSP telecommunications program, Charlotte Tanner who served the commonwealth for more than 50 years as a telecommunicator, radio room supervisor and instructor.

This year's Charlotte Tanner Valedictorian Award has been awarded to Shawna Hannie and Abigale Morgan, who will share the honor of valedictorian with grade point averages of 98.25%.

To apply for a telecommunicator position with KSP, click here:, or contact the KSP post nearest you for more information.

The mission of KSP is to promote public safety through service, integrity and professionalism using partnerships to prevent, reduce and deter crime and the fear of crime, enhance highway safety through education and enforcement, and safeguard property and protect individual rights.

KSP's focus this year is to maintain and strengthen its essential workforce in order to better provide public safety, maintain critical services and better reflect the diverse communities that KSP serves.

For more information about KSP's commitment of creating a better Kentucky by making the commonwealth's streets safer, communities stronger and the nation more secure by providing exceptional law enforcement, click here:

This story was posted on 2021-10-18 08:25:58
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

KSP Class 18 graduates Telecommunications Academy

2021-10-18 - Frankfort, KY - Photo courtesy Kentucky State Police.
Sydney Perkins Post 15 Columbia, Abigale Morgan Post 15 Columbia, Lauren Webb Post 7 Richmond, Ashley Holt Post 1 Mayfield, Abilene Steward Post 12 Frankfort, Lauren Hanner Post 3 Bowling Green, Emily Wallace Post 1 Mayfield, Erin Benton Post 5 Campbellsburg. (back row, l. to r.): Michael Powers Post 7 Richmond, Tabor Wright Post 8 Morehead, Carrigan Rowe Post 9 Pikeville, Alden Bowling Post 13 Hazard, Josiah Turner Post 7 Richmond, Jade Puckett Post 3 Bowling Green, Shawna Hannie Post 15 Columbia, Maribeth Hausey Post 14 Ashland.

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.

Hannie, Morgan are KSP Telecom Academy Valedictorians

2021-10-18 - Frankfort, KY - Photo courtesy Kentucky State Police.
KSP Commissioner Phillip Burnett, Jr., Abigale Morgan, Shawna Hanee, and Telecommunications Academy Instructor Jason Long.

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.