Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Green, Cumberland teachers named WKU Distinguished Educators

Bowling Green, KY - Western Kentucky University has announced the winners of the second annual Distinguished Educator Awards, including Lorie Estes at Green County Intermediate and Rodney Smith at Cumberland County Middle School.

"As graduation season nears and schools across the state prepare to celebrate student success, it's incredibly important we recognize their teachers as well," said Corinne Murphy, Dean of WKU's College of Education and Behavioral Sciences. "Our goal is to ensure we're showcasing our gratitude and really valuing our teachers and the work that impacts their students' lives."

Each award celebrates the individual and significant contributions educators make to the teaching profession.

From elementary education to teacher mentorship, WKU recognized the following P-12 educators based on their inspiring and specialized solutions in the classroom:
  • Elementary (P-5): Lorie Estes, Green County Intermediate
  • Middle Grades (6-8): Rodney Smith, Cumberland County Middle
  • Secondary (9-12): Chris Thomas, LaRue County High
  • Special Education: Emma Taylor, North Jackson Elementary
  • Visual Performing Arts: Pam Thurman, Jody Richards Elementary
  • Physical Education: Lauren Lamb, North Warren Elementary
  • Innovation: Rachel Smith, Hodgenville Elementary
  • Diversity: Samantha Pedigo, GEO International High
  • Literacy: Terri Cleaver, Parker Bennett Curry Elementary
  • Teacher Mentor: Chelsie Walsh, LaRue County Middle
While classic award ceremonies are still discouraged by the Centers for Disease Control to prevent the spread of COVID-19, WKU's College of Education and Behavioral Sciences ensured winning teachers had a memorable recognition after a year of non-traditional instruction and hybrid learning.

Last week CEBS leadership paid a surprise visit to each winner at their school where they were presented with a $200 cash prize and a commemorative plaque. Additionally, WKU will feature a perpetual plaque in Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame honoring winners for years to come.

Follow WKU CEBS on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to remain updated on further award celebrations and announcements as we continue to maintain alternative learning practices and celebrations.

Previously on CM: WKU announces finalists for Distinguished Educator Awards

This story was posted on 2021-04-26 21:30:56
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.