Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Columbia Main Street Program Elects 7-person Board Of Directors

This article first appeared in issue 2, and was written by Linda Waggener.

Columbia Main Street Program elects 7-person board of directors

The Downtown Columbia revitalization group elected a seven-person working board of directors at its last meeting. The working board includes Charles Grimsley, Judy Phipps, Trilby Tupman, Amy Waggener, Linda Fitzpatrick, and Linda Waggener.

Action groups were established in the four areas recommended by the Kentucky Main Street program which Columbia is making application to for future guidance and funding sources for renovation:

-Economic restructuring, which will make efforts to work with the county industrial authority to recruit new businesses to downtown, includes Amy Waggener, chair, and members Jean McLean, Bea Beard, Lloyd French, Rita Coomer, Sheila Taylor, and Trilby Tupman.

-Organization, which will work as consensus builders and negotiators, Judy Phipps, chair, and members Brian Walker, Ann Warren, and Mitzi Bault.

-Promotion, which will serve as media and events coordinators, Linda Waggener, chair, and members Guy Adams, Bob Tobias, Jon Coomer, and Elaine Bennett.

-Design, which will be concerned with signs, building fronts, landscape, and displays, Charles Grimsley, chair, and members Vonnie Kolbenschlag, Sally Markle, Beverly England, Mike Loy, Donna Vaughn, and Mackie J. Pennington. Judy Somerville has also volunteered to serve on this committee.

Trilby Tupman was elected the group's secretary. Linda Fitzpatrick is the treasurer.

A permanent chair will be sought at the next meeting Tuesday, March 26, at 5:00 p.m. in the basement of the Adair County Courthouse Annex. Linda Waggener has served as acting chair for the group's first three meetings and D'Zine, Ltd., Business Communications sponsored the materials and postage. Sponsors will be needed for future mailings.

All persons interested in revitalization and improving downtown are invited to attend and participate.

This story was posted on 1995-08-01 12:01:01
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

More articles from topic News:

Next Town Meeting Tuesday, March 26, 1996 5 P.m. Courthouse Annex

View even more articles in topic News

Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.