Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Area students named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

By Tim Ballard

Frankfort, KY - Twenty-nine 2021 high school graduates from the area have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and score at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

"My administration will always put education first, and that's why we're so proud to celebrate these students for their hard work in the classroom the past four years," Gov. Andy Beshear said. "This is especially true for the 2021 graduates, who earned this honor while spending much of their last two years of high school under new and often challenging learning conditions because of the COVID-19 pandemic."

The area students earning this honor were:
  • Adair County High School: Maggie Brummett, Emilee Flatt, Lillian Quinn.
  • Campbellsville High School: John Orberson, Abigail Wiedewitsch.
  • Casey County High School: Jaden Atherton, Anna Dangelmaier, Molly Demrow.
  • Cumberland County High School: Caitlyn Patterson.
  • Green County High School: Elizabeth Anderson, Audrey Slinker, Riley Woodruff, Haleigh Wright.
  • Metcalfe County High School: Annika Reed.
  • Russell County High School: Taylor Abernathy, Allie Burton, Whitney Gaskin, Sara Grider, Tyler Lulek, Logan Stanelle, Natalie Woodcock.
  • Taylor County High School: Morgan Melton, Marc Shewmaker, Emilee Walters.
  • Clinton County High School: Autumn McCutchen.
  • Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science: Elizabeth Cook, Samuel Hoffman, Samuel Leveridge, Allicen White.

These students have also earned Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards, which they can use to continue their education beyond high school. They are eligible for $2,500 per year in KEES funds for up to four years of postsecondary education.

This designation is named in honor of the late State Senator Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is unavailable in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.

KHEAA also disburses low-cost Advantage Education Loans, the state's only nonprofit private education loan. For more information, visit

This story was posted on 2021-09-29 17:13:53
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.