Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Lindsey Wilson captures ninth-straight MSC President's Cup

By Christopher Coombs

For the ninth consecutive time, Lindsey Wilson has captured the Mid-South Conference President's Cup, conference officials announced on Wednesday.

The Blue Raiders also won the men's all-sports trophy as the women finished in second behind Cumberlands (KY). Lindsey Wilson's MSC Presidents Cup streak began during the 2011-12 season.

Lindsey Wilson scored 132 points in the all-sports competition to capture the 10th overall cup in school history. The Blue Raiders tallied 67.5 points in the Men's All-Sports Trophy and 61.5 points in the Women's All-Sports Trophy.

The points are awarded based on the final regular-season standings for each conference-sanctioned sport. The regular-season champion or event champion -- in the case where there is no regular season -- in each sport receives 10 points with second place receiving nine points, etc. The top seven male and top seven female team finishes for each institution will generate the institution's overall totals. For co-ed sports, points are awarded to the gender that benefits the most by the co-ed score.

Cumberlands (KY) finished second with 130 points, just two points off the pace Lindsey Wilson set. The Patriots took the Women's All-Sports Trophy with 69 total points.

Campbellsville (KY) was third with 108 points while Georgetown (KY) took fourth with 100 points. Cumberland (TN) finished fifth with 95 points, Bethel (TN) was sixth with 87 points as Life (GA) took seventh with 85 points. Shawnee State (OH) and Thomas More (KY) finished tied for eighth with 81.5 points as Martin Methodist (TN) sits 10th with 75.5 points and Pikeville (KY) took 11th with 66 points. Rounding out the President's Cup standings is Freed-Hardeman (TN) with 41 points.

In fall sports, Lindsey Wilson picked up team championships in Football and Women's Volleyball. In the winter season, wrestling claimed the team championship as LWC added wins in Men's Tennis and Men's Track and Field during the spring.

Lindsey Wilson is the conference's all-time leader in Presidents Cup Trophies with 10 in their history. Cumberlands has won eight cups for the second most in the MSC as Georgetown has four with two outright cups and a shared title for their third and a fourth cup. Campbellsville won the President's Cup twice and Cumberland owns one.

During the 2019-20 season, no president cup was awarded due to COVID-19 forcing the cancelation on most winter and spring sports.

This story was posted on 2021-05-26 18:18:15
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.