Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

LWC Wrestling claims MSC North Division Tournament Title

By Christopher Coombs

Bowling Green, KY - The Lindsey Wilson wrestling team claimed the program's third-ever Mid-South Conference tournament title on Saturday at the Ephram White Gymnasium. The Blue Raiders racked up 159.5 points for the championship along with five individual champions.

Upon the completion of the event, Brandon Reed was named the MSC North Division Men's Wrestler of the Year as Corey Ruff was tabbed the MSC North Division Coach of the Year. It marks Ruff's fifth coach of the year honor.

Cumberland (Tenn.) took second with 137 points as Cumberlands (Ky.) finished in third with 126 points.

In total, eight Lindsey Wilson grapplers made the finals in their respective weight classes in Sam Bacon, Trent Johnson, Derrick Smallwood, Joe Koontz, Tyler Hall, Trevor Lawson, Carlos Figueroa and Brandon Reed.

Additionally, nine Blue Raiders earned All-MSC honors as Johnson, Smallwood, Hall, Lawson and Reed were named to the first team after claiming individual titles while Bacon, Koontz and Figueroa got second-team honors and Trajan Hurd managed third-team honors.

Bacon (No. 5 at 133) received an opening-round bye and then advanced to the championship bout when he pinned Cameron Henderson of Campbellsville in 1:48 of the first period. He went on to take second place when he lost to Esco Walker of Cumberland on a 10-8 decision in the first sudden-victory period of the championship bout.

Johnson (No. 2 at 149) also received an opening-round bye and then made quick work of Thomas More's Cameron Baird on a pin in just 1:50 of the bout. He then claimed the Blue Raiders first individual championship of the day when he defeated Anthony Maia (No. 3 at 149) on a pin at the 6:01 mark after leading the match 17-4 late in the third period.

Smallwood produced back-to-back pins to advance to the championship match at 157-pounds. He first defeated Midway's Daylon Stafford in 5:22 before taking down Cumberlands Weston Milnes on 4:50. He then won the 157-pound weight class when he defeated Wilder Wichman (No. 7 at 157) of Thomas More in the first sudden-victory period on a 7-5 decision.

Koontz (No. 8 at 165) opened his afternoon with a pin in 6:54 over Matt Lewis of Thomas More before punching his ticket to the 165-pound championship when he took down Gavin Smith of Campbellsville on a 4-3 decision. Both wrestlers were tied at three but Koontz picked up the ride time point to claim the victory. Koontz finished in second place when he lost to Cole Smith (No. 5 at 165) of Cumberland on an 8-3 decision.

Hall (No. 5 at 184) produced a pin victory over Gabe Martinez of Campbellsville in 6:15 before meeting LWC teammate Trajan Hurd in the semifinals. Hall defeated Hurd on a 6-0 decision to advance to the finals of the 184-pound weight class. He then managed to claim the 184-pound championship with a 2-1 decision over Daulton Mayer (No. 9 at 184) of Thomas More.

Hurd (No. 11 at 184) opened his day with a pin over Austin Antcliffe of Cumberland in 5:40 before falling to the consolation bracket with his loss to Hall. Hurd then advanced to the third-place match when he defeated John Oliveri (No. 17 at 184) of Cumberland on a 5-2 decision. He then took third place after defeating Gabe Jacobs of Cumberlands on a 10-5 decision.

Trevor Lawson (No. 2 at 197) received an opening-round bye and then recorded back-to-back pins to advance to the championship bout. He pinned Campbellsville's Marquis Cobbs in 1:25 before pinning River Henry of Cumberland in 1:30. He would face LWC teammate Carlos Figueroa in the championship where he claimed first place after a medical forfeit.

Figueroa (No. 15 at 197) battled his way to the 197-pound championship after defeating Campbellsville's Jaden Sonner on a 3-0 decision and Daulton Mayer (No. 9 at 197) of Thomas More on a 4-2 decision. He would finish in second place for the championship.

Brandon Reed (No. 1 at HW) advanced to the finals of the heavyweight class after a pin victory over Midway's Kevin Ixpanel in 4:44 and then followed up that performance with a 15-second pin over Byron Pierce of Midway in the semifinals. He then squared off with Aaron Johnson (No. 3 at HW) of Cumberlands on a 5-0 decision to close out the championship with the heavyweight title.

Gabe Adams won his opening match on a pin in 2:02 over Thomas More's Jordon Hoselton. He fell to the consolation bracket with a 4-2 decision loss to Esco Walker of Cumberland before medically forfeiting his next two matches to finish in sixth place at 133-pounds at the championship.

The MSC Tournament title is the Blue Raiders third in program history. The Blue Raiders now have 56 All-MSC selections across the history of the program.

Lindsey Wilson heads to the NAIA National Championship on March 5-6 in Wichita, Kansas for their final event of the season.

This story was posted on 2021-02-21 18:22:09
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.