Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

CU honors 217 teachers including three in Adair

Three from Adair include Robin Rae Hancock, Adair County Elementary School; Sarah Katherine Antle, Adair County Middle School; and Shanna Ragle, Adair County High School.

By Scarlett Birge, student news writer, and Joan C. McKinney,
director, Office of University Communications

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. - Campbellsville University's 34th annual Excellence in Teaching Award Program Ceremony was canceled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

However, 217 teachers received the Excellence in Teaching Award from 76 districts and/or private schools in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Twenty-two of the teachers have Campbellsville College or University degrees and nine teachers are National Certified Teachers.

Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said, "The Excellence in Teaching program is one of our most meaningful tributes to Kentucky teachers.

"Teachers deserve recognition for pouring themselves into the lives of our P-12 students. Teachers not only serve students in the classroom, but they make profound impacts in their students' personal lives and on their future.

"I am honored to have the opportunity to recognize the best of the best in education!"

Hedgepath, herself a teacher and university professor for several years, would have been present for the ceremony, along with Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the School of Education.

Allen said, "During this time of pandemic, teachers have had to be creative and flexible problem solvers in delivering relevant, timely instruction to their students.

"The teachers who are EIT recipients this year have and will continue to find innovative ways to lead, to teach and to help students succeed regardless of the learning challenges presented by COVID 19.

"I am sorry that this year, we are unable to have our usual celebration to honor them. I am proud of these teachers who continue to shape the future for all of us regardless of circumstances."

A total of 4,163 Kentucky teachers have been honored since the program began in 1987

with assistance from Earl Aaron and the Ward, Cundiff and Aaron Memorial Fund. The purpose of the program is to recognize the quality teaching and learning taking place in the school systems throughout Kentucky.

The Excellence in Teaching Awards program is in partnership with Lexington's CBS-affiliate, WKYT-TV.

The teachers are selected by their school districts in each grade level (preschool/elementary, middle and high school).

The 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award recipients include the following with their superintendent listed first:

Adair County -- Dr. Pamela Stephens, superintendent; Robin Rae Hancock, Adair County Elementary School, a 2019 Campbellsville University graduate; Sarah Katherine Antle, Adair County Middle School, a 2013 Campbellsville University graduate; and Shanna Ragle, Adair County High School.

Hancock, of Columbia, Ky., teaches 5th grade English language arts at Adair County Middle School. She formerly taught the 1st, 3rd and 4th grades at Metcalfe County Elementary School.

She received her Bachelor of Science degrees in Agriculture Economics from the University of Kentucky in 1999 and in Elementary Education from Lindsey Wilson in 2007. She earned her Master's in 2012 from the University of the Cumberlands. In 2019, Hancock received her Rank I from Campbellsville University. She is a 1995 graduate of Poolesville High School, of Poolesville, Md.

She is the daughter of Brenda Cotter of Columbia and the late Robert Cotter. She is married to Kirby Hancock, and they have two children, Hayden and Hudson Hancock.

Antle, of Jamestown. Ky., has taught 8th grade math at Adair County Middle School since 2014. She formerly taught 8th grade math at Bate Middle School in Danville, Ky. from 2013 until 2014 and 8thn grade science and 7th grade math at Southern Middle School in Somerset, Ky. from 2010 until 2013.

She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Teaching 5-9 grade Math and Science from Lindsey Wilson College in 2009. She received her Master of Arts in Special Education from Campbellsville University in 2013. She earned her Education Specialist degree, Principal and Supervisor of Instruction from Eastern Kentucky University in 2017.

She is the daughter of Katherine Bradshaw, of Russell Springs, Ky., and Joe Bradshaw, of Barbourville, Ky. She is married to Chris Antle, and they have one child, Clay Antle.

Ragle, of Russell Springs, Ky., teaches 9th and 11th grade English at Adair County High School since 2017.

She received her Bachelor of Arts in English Education from Lindsey Wilson College in 2017. She is a 2013 graduate of Russell County High School.

She is the daughter of Shirlene and Raymond Jackson, of Russell Springs, Ky., and is married to Tayler Ragle, and they have one child, Benjamin Ragle.

The 2020 Excellence in Teaching Committee included: Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the Campbellsville University School of Education; Elizabeth Franklin, secretary to the dean, School of Education; Lisa Kirtley, data specialist; Natasha Nall, graduate secretary for the School of Education; Dominic Sanfilippo, early childhood program secretary, and Alice Steele, clinic support specialist.

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 11,900 students offering over 100 programs of study including Ph.D., master, baccalaureate, associate, pre-professional and certification programs. The university has Kentucky based off-campus centers in Louisville, Harrodsburg, Somerset, Hodgenville and Liberty with instructional sites in Elizabethtown, Owensboro and Summersville. Out-of-state centers include two in California at Los Angeles and Lathrop, located in the San Francisco Bay region. The website for complete information is

Campbellsville University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates, associate, baccalaureate, masters and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the status of Campbellsville.

This story was posted on 2020-05-27 06:14:20
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.