Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

ACES Wins District 54 Governor's Cup! Awesome.

Team adds Quick Recall to earlier Future Problem Solving 2nd Place award in District.
Click on headline for complete story with photo(s)
Next: Regional Academic Teams Governor's Cup competition at 9amCT, Saturday, March 3, 2017 at Jamestown Elementary School, 342 S Main Street, Jamestown, KY

By Alice Curry, Technology Teacher/Coordinator
News from Adair County Elementary School

On Saturday, February 10, 2018, Adair County Elementary School hosted the District 54 Governor's Cup. Students in Adair, Clinton, Cumberland and Metcalfe counties participated in this event.

Teams began the day with written assessments in Arts & Humanities, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies. The following students from ACES placed in this event:


  • Arts & Humanities - J.T. Loy (3rd place)
  • Language Arts - Mason Holliman (1st place)
  • Mathematics - Kinzlee Akin (1st place), Aaron Smith (3rd place)
  • Science - Bailey Watts (1st place), Andrew Zinati (2nd place), Joseph Kotter (5th place)
  • Social Studies - Andrew Zinati (1st place), Nathan Ballou (2nd place)
Other ACES students participating in written assessments
  • Arts & Humanities - Hannah Kotter, J.T. Loy, Jay Whalen
  • Language Arts - Addie Bennett, Mason Holliman, Abbie Kemp
  • Mathematics - Kinzlee Akin, Seamus Cook, Aaron Smith
  • Science - Joseph Kotter, Bailey Watts, Andrew Zinati
  • Social Studies - Kinzlee Akin, Nathan Ballou, Andrew Zinati

QUICK RECALL - First Place

Quick Recall began at 11amCT, when ACES advanced against Metcalfe County with a score of 22-13. In the second round ACES defeated Clinton County with a score of 22-15. ACES received a bye in the third round and came out victorious over Clinton County in the fourth round by a score of 28-13. ACES received the 1st place trophy in Quick Recall.

ACES students competing in the quick recall were as follows:
  • Kinzlee Akin, Nathan Ballou, Joseph Kotter, J.T. Loy, Aaron Smith, Bailey Watts (Team Captain), Andrew Zinati
Other Quick Recall members: Addie Bennett, Seamus Cook, Mason Holliman, Kaydence Karnes, Hannah Kotter, Gavin Larguero, Trina Nguyen and Jay Whalen

Future Problem Solving results announced
Results from FUTURE PROBLEM SOLVING (FPS) and WRITTEN COMPOSITION, which took place on Tuesday, February 6, 2018, were announced. ACES was awarded 2nd place in this event.

ACES student participating in FPS were as follows
  • Hannah Kotter, Joseph Kotter, Arraya Phelps and Aaron Smith (Alternates were Natalie Kaylor and Abbie Kemp)

Written Composition
Written Compositionparticipants and results were as follow:
  • Bailey Watts (4th place), Trina Nguyen (5th place) and Abbie Kemp

Adair County Elementary School wins sportsmanship award
Adair County Elementary School also received the Hume Sportsmanship Award, which is voted on by the four schools.

Next, Team advances to Regional Governor's Cup competition
Because of the placements in the above competitions, ADAIR COUNTY ELEMENTARY SCHOOL earned 1ST Place in the District 54 Governor's Cup Competition! All placing students will advance to the Regional Governor's Cup competition at 9amCT, Saturday, March 3, 2017 at Jamestown Elementary School.

Mrs. Lisa Newell, 4th grade math teacher, is the coach for written assessments, written composition and quick recall. Mrs. Jeana Pike, 4th grade reading teacher, is the coach for future problem solving.


This story was posted on 2018-02-13 13:31:02
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

2018 ACES Academic Team - District Governor's Cup champs

2018-02-13 - Adair County Elementary School (ACES), 870 Indian Drive, Columbia, KY - Photo by Alice Curry, Technology Teacher/Coordinator.
ACES Academic Team members - Front row: Joseph Kotter, Kaydence Karnes, Addie Bennett, Andrew Zinati, Aaron Smith, Bailey Watts, Arraya Phelps, and Nathan Ballou. Second row: Hannah Kotter, Kinzlee Akin, Trina Nguyen, Gavin Larguero, J.T. Loy, Jay Whalen, Abbie Kemp, Seamus Cook, and Mason Holliman. Back: Coach Jeana Pike and Coach Lisa Newell-Hare. - Alice Curry

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.