Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

LW football defeats No. 18 Campbellsville 49-28

Senior Day victory comes before 2,742 in attendance at Blue Raider Stadium. Victory marks first ever program perfect season. With win Blue Raiders capture MSC Bluegrass Division outright.
Click on headline for complete story

By Anthony Latess
News from Lindsey Wilson College

COLUMBIA, KY - The No. 4-ranked Lindsey Wilson football team defeated No. 18-ranked Campbellsville (KY) 49-28 on Saturday, November 11, 2017, at Blue Raider Stadium on Senior Day to get the Battle of Highway 55 traveling trophy.

With the win, Lindsey Wilson (10-0, 6-0 Mid-South Conference Bluegrass Division) sets a program record for consecutive wins with 10 and the first perfect regular season in program history. The Blue Raiders also captured the MSC Bluegrass Division title outright.

Dylan Beasley completed 26-of-43 passes for 301 yards and five touchdowns, four of which came in the first half. Beasley has now thrown for at least 300 yards 12 times in his career. Charles Gaines led the Blue Raiders in receiving with 98 yards on six receptions and two touchdowns. Mikey Davis also hauled in six passes for 60 yards. Allen Cooks, Kolton Bramlett and Corey Smith all caught a touchdown. Jayven Jones scored a rushing touchdown.

Hunter Brown got the Tigers (7-2, 4-2 MSC Bluegrass) on the board just 18 seconds into the first quarter when he connected with Kendon Young on a screen pass. Young took the pass 77 yards to put Campbellsville up 7-0. Lindsey Wilson responded with a 17 play, 77-yard drive that took five minutes and 38 seconds. The Blue Raiders converted three times on fourth down during the drive. Lindsey Wilson capped off the long drive when Beasley connected with Gaines for 14 yards to tie it at 7-7.

Campbellsville answered right back with a quick three-play scoring drive. Wade Holtsclaw broke a run up the middle for 66 yards to give the Tigers their second, first quarter lead at 14-7 with 7:59 left in the quarter.

Lindsey Wilson would then rattle off 35-consecutive points starting with a two-yard touchdown pass from Beasley to Bramlett that capped off a seven play, 76-yard drive. The Blue Raiders took the lead when Beasley threw his third touchdown in the first quarter to Smith to go up 21-14 with 53 second remaining in the quarter.

Jones capped off an eight play, 67-yard drive when he powered it in from a yard out to give the Blue Raiders a 28-14 lead. Beasley connected with Gaines for a second time in the first half to increase the Lindsey Wilson lead to 35-14 with 7:29 to play before halftime.

Blake Ingleton continued the Blue Raider scoring frenzy when he ran the opening kick of the second half back for 87 yards to put Lindsey Wilson up 42-14. The Tigers would get back on the board with 8:05 remaining in the third quarter. Jacree Caldwell forced a Beasley fumble and Luckandre Vassor ran it back for a touchdown to cut the Blue Raider lead to 42-21 with 8:05 left in the third.

Beasley threw his fifth touchdown on the day when he connected with Cooks for 22 yards with 6:10 to go in the third quarter.

From there the two offenses were held by the opposing defenses until Brown found Young for a second time on a 33 yard pass to cut the Blue Raider lead to 49-28 with 1:39 left in the fourth quarter. On the previous Tiger possession, Campbellsville was driving Quartez Henderson picked off a pass at the goal line to give the Blue Raiders back the ball. Following the final Tiger score was able to kneel out the clock and secure the second-consecutive Battle of Highway 55 victory.

Trent Mueller and Damani Jenkins led the Lindsey Wilson defense with six tackles each. Jenkins also recorded two tackles for loss and a sack. C.J. Dickerson recorded five tackles with two sacks and a forced fumble.

In a game that saw 150 plays and 846 yards, the Tigers outgained Lindsey Wilson 457 to 389. Brown threw for 376 yards on 28 completions and two touchdowns with an interception. Young finished with two touchdowns on six receptions and 152 yards.

Prior to the game, 18 seniors were honored for their contributions to the program.

The NAIA Football Championship Series will be announced on Sunday with host sites and matchups for the 16-team field released at 4pmCT, via the NAIA Facebook page.

This story was posted on 2017-11-11 19:09:09
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.