Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Fiscal Court Special Meeting, 21 Mar 2017 - report

  • Judge Stephens makes surprise appearance as presiding officer, the first time he has filled the role since his surgery on January 26, 2017
  • Court approves memorandum of agreement with KY Transportation Department. Learns funds cut by more than half what was expected, that only three projects can be completed this year
  • Finances: Court approves line item transfers; disbursements

Click on headline for complete report with photo(s)

By Ed Waggener

Adair County Judge Michael Lee Stephens presided at the Special Meeting of the Adair Fiscal Court, Tueday, March 21, 2017, at 1pmCT. The surprise appearance came just four hours after he had said that it would likely be April before he would preside again. It was the first time since his January 26, 2017, surgery that he assumed the duties of presiding over the meetings.

At the meeting, the court addressed line item budget transfers, disbursements, and approved a Memorandum of Agreeement with the Kentucky Transportation Department for Discretionary Funds in the amount of $114,814.93.

Judge Stephens was clearly disappointed that an expected $238,000 in Discretionary Funds was reduced by more than half. He said that the reduced amount occurred when the State charged construction of the Barnett's Creek Bridge, previously thought to have been emergency funds, to this year's discretionary grant. The reduction meant that only three projects turned in by magistrates would be approved. 1) For resurfacing a portion of Cane Valley Road, 2) For resurfacing on Corbin's Bend Road, and 3) For resurfacing a portion of Hughes Road.

The three projects above were selected by the Transportation Cabinet.

Gregg Caldwell, District 6 Magistrate, explained that he had advocated for Cane Valley Road because of the damage to the road by heavy trucks using the road during the construction of the Heartland Parkway.

The court approved the MOA and approved authorizing the County Judge Executive/Deputy CJE signing the agreements.

Disbursements: Line Item Transfers approved

The Court unanimously approved line item transfers for two items:
  1. $4,956.75 from line 01-9200-999 reserve to transer to line 01-5217-548 for supplies
  2. $80.90 from line 01-9200-999 reserve to line 01-5005-445 for county attorney office supplies.
Present at the meeting were CJE Stephens, Deputy CJE Andrea Waggener, all members of Fiscal Court, Harold Burton (1), Daryl Flatt (2), Sammy Baker (3), Perry Reeder (4) Billy Dean Coffey (5) Gregg Caldwell (6), and Terry Hadley (7); Treasurer Melinda Quinn, County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison-Corbin, Sessions Recording Clerk Gale Cowan, County Road Superintendent Terry Corbin, and members of the media.

End of REPORT for special called meeting, Tue 21 Mar 2017 2017

Regular monthly Adair County Fiscal Court meetings are held at 6pmCT, each second Tuesday, in the basement of the Adair Annex, 424 Public Square, Columbia, KY. The meetings are open to the public.
Adair County Judge Executive Mike Stephens
421 Public Square, Suite 1, Columbia, KY 42728
Phone 270-384-4703; Fax 270-384-9754

  • Adair County Attorney Jennifer Hutchison-Corbin (2000)
  • Adair County Coroner Todd Akin (20011
  • Adair County Court Clerk Lisa Greer (2007)
  • Adair County Circuit Court Clerk Dennis Loy
  • Adair County Jailer Joey White (2011)
  • Adair County PVA Jeff Feese
  • Adair County Sheriff Harrison Moss
  • Adair County Surveyor Mike McKinney

  • County Judge Executive Mike Stephens (2007) is a voting member of Fiscal Court and may vote on all proposals before the court; Office:Adair Courthouse Annex
Magistrates on the Adair County Fiscal Court:
  • District 1: Harold Burton (2011)
  • District 2: Daryl Flatt (2011)
  • District 3: Sammy Baker (2007)
  • District 4: Perry Reeder (2007)
  • District 5: Billy Dean Coffey (Feb. 2005) (270) 384-4201
  • District 6: Greg Caldwell (2015)
  • District 7:Terry Hadley (2015)
Adair County Constables
  • District 1: William "Bill" Troutwine
  • District 2: Shannon Rowe (2011)
  • District 3: Robert R. Loy
  • District 4: Ed Wigal (2011)
  • District 5: Tim Bottoms
  • District 6: Jason T. Rector
  • District 7: Joe Collins, Jr.

  • Adair County Finance Officer, Fiscal Court Clerk Gale Cowan
  • Adair County Deputy Judge Executive Andrea Waggener
  • Adair County Mapping and Addressing Coordinator - Open
  • Adair County 911 Supervisor: Jason Upchurch
  • Adair Co. Disaster Management Coordinator Mike Keltner
  • Adair County Treasurer Melinda Quinn
  • Adair County Roads Foreman Terry Corbin
  • Adair County Dog Warden Jimmy Harmon
  • Adair County Solid Waste Coordinator David Smith

Click Here to check other announcements in the Events calendar.

This story was posted on 2017-03-22 10:46:53
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

CJE Mike Stephens presides at Fiscal Court Tue 21 Mar 2017

2017-03-22 - Basement, Adair Annex, 424 Public Square, Columbia, KY - Photo by Ed Waggener, .
Adair County Fiscal Court gave a warm welcome to Adair County CJE Michael Lee Stephens when he made a surprise appearance returning to his role as presiding officer for the first time since undergoing surgery on January 26, 2017. - EW

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.