ColumbiaMagazine.com
Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  
 

























 
Robert Stone: 89 haiku written Nov.-Dec. 2011


The haiku of Robert Stone: pearls of thought for everyday in the past two months. All are worth reading and time in thought, and most are timeless or repeatedly timely, as this one from late December 2011 does for the New Year's dawning in 2012:
Let power descend
so your feet may move swiftly
through another year.
- Wednesday, 28 December 2011
-Ed Waggener
Click on Headline for to scan all 89 haiku.

By Robert Stone

Eighty-nine haiku. 1000 haiku countdown to Chambers Stevens' 50th birthdaywho posted on Facebook: "It is a 1000 days until I am 50 years old. Wonder what I could accomplish in a 1000 days if I put my mind, body and soul into it?" and I said I could write a haiku every day for a thousand days. This collection includes those for Nov.-Dec. 2011.

Another two months have rolled by and here are the recent haiku. All of them were written as comments on comments or on status notes or on photographs or on blog posts or in responses to emails. If you are really curious as to what caused me to write one of these, send me a note and I'll let you know.

~

Slowly but surely
whatever you think you are
you become at last.
- Monday, 14 November 2011

~

Even wordiest
sometimes failing to find words,
just say beautiful.
- Thursday, 17 November 2011

~

Poor but persistent
beats rich in potential but
missing in action.
- Thursday, 17 November 2011

~

Plan who you would be
for you will never regain
who you were before.
- Friday, 18 November 2011

~

Anniversaries
are good when we can still see
twenty years to come.
- Saturday, 19 November 2011

~

Before one learns
just what to be thankful for,
a long time may pass.
- Wednesday, 23 November 2011

~

No time, no birthday.
No milestones, no remembrance.
No kind words, no life.
- Friday, 25 November 2011

~

Tourists want exits
which leave behind worlds where
explorers seek new.
- Wednesday, 30 November 2011

~

Loveliest friend
picks up all the pieces and
mails them home to you.
- Tuesday, 6 December 2011

~

Correct grammar is
what is still everyday talk
thousand years from now.
- Tuesday, 6 December 2011

~

When, in spite of all
you know and see and believe,
you love, that is hope.
- Wednesday, 7 December 2011

~

If anyone knows?--
pause that refreshes follows--
then hurrying past
- Wednesday, 14 December 2011

~

My, how the years fly
only yesterday you were
burying Hamlet.
- Tuesday, 20 December 2011

~

Not seeing the truth
how can one come to terms with
what's not to be seen.
- Monday, 26 December 2011

~

Not on the solstice
but winter day soon after
annual rejoicing.
- Tuesday, 27 December 2011

~

Let power descend
so your feet may move swiftly
through another year.
- Wednesday, 28 December 2011

~

Strong confirmation
when strangers affirm you see
what they want to see.
- Thursday, 29 December 2011

~

Birthday turning point:
look not backward or forward
>- Friday, 30 December 2011

~

Honor your mentors.
Show kindness and celebrate
Good Example Day.
- Tuesday, 1 November 2011, day 49

~

Solid rocks do change:
yesterday and tomorrow
only seem the same.
- Wednesday, 2 November 2011, day 50

~

Tall grass meets mower
when groundskeepers are working
to keep a standard.
- Thursday, 3 November 2011, day 51

~

When even greater
is covered up by lesser,
there is too much stuff.
- Friday, 4 November 2011, day 52

~

When you find yourself
in same position again,
look for a new path.
- Saturday, 5 November 2011, day 53

~

Current gentler here
but still close enough to hear
noisy rushing falls.
- Sunday, 6 November 2011, day 54

~

Small patches of snow
lingering in shady spotshope to grow again.
- Monday, 7 November 2011, day 55

~

November warm spell
comfortable reminder
winter is waiting.
- Tuesday, 8 November 2011, day 56

~

In seamless rainbow
too diligent mind will find
the unmarked droplet.
- Wednesday, 9 November 2011, day 57

~

Much seems not to change,
flashes of understanding
are not always truth.
- Thursday, 10 November 2011, day 58

~

Even when careless
willingly step in danger
many return safe.
- Friday, 11 November 2011, day 59

~

Pretend helplessness
and each encounter invites
more domination.
- Saturday, 12 November 2011, day 60

~

Response: your words came
at just the right time for me.
What more could I wish?
- Sunday, 13 November 2011, day 61

~

Learn games people play
and afterward if you dare
learn scripts people live.
- Monday, 14 November 2011, day 62

~

First step awareness
but comprehension requires
both time and sequence.
- Tuesday, 15 November 2011, day 63

~

Flowers are enhanced.
Weeds are exterminated.
But who determines?
- Wednesday, 16 November 2011, day 64

~

Past has shaped now me
but focus on future change
can shape better me.
- Thursday, 17 November 2011, day 65

~

Winter sunshine warms
not always but many times
heart more than body.
- Friday, 18 November 2011, day 66

~

Living and dying
are the two sides of one coin
we only spend once.
- Saturday, 19 November 2011, day 67

~

Develop talents
but no talent will make you
better than others.
- Sunday, 20 November 2011, day 68

~

No matter how short
the runway is long enough
if you get airborne.
- Monday, 21 November 2011, day 69

~

Countdowns help focus
but after the end has come
count up future plans.
- Tuesday, 22 November 2011, day 70

~

No matter how good,
when you add togetherness,
good becomes better.
- Wednesday, 23 November 2011, day 71

~

Potential blessings
lost through neglect may become
adamant regrets.
- Thursday, 24 November 2011, day 72

~

One more tomorrow
with its possibilities
is gone forever.
- Friday, 25 November 2011, day 73

~

Eye sees still to still.
Brain creates action between.
Mind perceives movies.
- Saturday, 26 November 2011, day 74

~

Avoid negatives
for flirting with them delays
search for positives.
- Sunday, 27 November 2011, day 75

~

Each today story
splits two ways and becomes two
twenty years after.
- Monday, 28 November 2011, day 76

~

Unknowns before us
litter pathways once cleared of
unknowns behind us.
- Tuesday, 29 November 2011, day 77

~

Sun does not go up
likewise by our way with words
Sun does not come down.
- Wednesday, 30 November 2011, day 78

~

Nature has no plans.
Nature has only one plan:
that all run their course.
- Thursday, 1 December 2011, day 79

~

Avoid uncontrolled,
there is adventure enough
in pleasant places.
- Friday, 2 December 2011, day 80

~

Sunrises differ
but no one questions whether
the same sun comes up.
- Saturday, 3 December 2011, day 81

~Life unfolds itself
either stately or confused
as you choose to see.
- Sunday, 4 December 2011, day 82
~

Detailed depictions
when enough words are left out
may become poems.
- Monday, 5 December 2011, day 83

~

Speak often of hope
in actions remembering
words easily fade.
- Tuesday, 6 December 2011, day 84

~

Too narrow focus
prevents one from noticing
a wealth of options.
- Wednesday, 7 December 2011, day 85

~

Habits allow time
for happiness and despair
and more new habits.
- Thursday, 8 December 2011, day 86

~

Color must be learned.
Our world will be black and white
plus what we are taught.
- Friday, 9 December 2011, day 87

~

To know your true worth
count the times you encouraged
from despair to hope.
- Saturday, 10 December 2011, day 88

~

Nothing surprises
those close enough to include
weaknesses with strength.
- Sunday, 11 December 2011, day 89

~

One must risk failure
disdaining ease and comfort
to achieve success.
- Monday, 12 December 2011, day 90

~

The end is nearer
but how near is not certain
until it is now.
- Tuesday, 13 December 2011, day 91

~

When all paths lead down,
ambitious strugglers must find
new mountains to climb.
- Wednesday, 14 December 2011, day 92

~

When empty dishes
contain nothing for too long,
unfilled seems proper.
- Thursday, 15 December 2011, day 93

~

All foggy mornings
appear pretty much the same
until too late.
- Friday, 16 December 2011, day 94

~

When words become flesh,
new insights beget wonder
matching seen with read.
- Saturday, 17 December 2011, day 95

~

Starry-eyed dreamers
dare to be wonder workers
risking likely breaks.
- Sunday, 18 December 2011, day 96

~

Where is the party?
No one sure then ask yourself,
should I be at it.
- Monday, 19 December 2011, day 97

~

Light and water know
growth makes paths toward building blocks,
unaware of stars.
- Tuesday, 20 December 2011, day 98

~

Sunrise to sunset
shortest day of year reminds
longer always come.
- Wednesday, 21 December 2011, day 99

~

Beyond this moment
eye to look and soul to see
therefore taste and see.
- Thursday, 22 December 2011, day 100

~

Behind your closed door
to those on the other side
you are the unknown.
- Friday, 23 December 2011, day 101

~

Hold fast traditions
which need much time to create
but moments to break.
- Saturday, 24 December 2011, day 102

~

Words are but stories
to remind ourselves of life
just beyond our reach.
- Sunday, 25 December 2011, day 103

~

Words may suggest words
which transport into a state
where there are no words.
- Monday, 26 December 2011, day 104

~

Truth behind your face
will remain with those you meet
after details fade.
- Tuesday, 27 December 2011, day 105

~

No matter how much
one aspires to keep in touch,
there is a limit.
- Wednesday, 28 December 2011, day 106

~

What we understand
is not a settling down point
but a launching pad.
- Thursday, 29 December 2011, day 107

~

If I appear changed,
I still must confront same me
in honest mirror.
- Friday, 30 December 2011, day 108

~

Life comes to an end
but missed opportunity
is the sting of death.
- Saturday, 31 December 2011, day 109

To enjoy more of the poetry, writing, and edited copy submitted by Robert Stone, enter his name in the CM searchbox


This story was posted on 2012-01-02 02:23:11
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

 























 
 
Quick Links to Popular Features


 

ColumbiaMagazine.com content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link: http://www.columbiamagazine.com/columbiamagazinerss.php.

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and columbiamagazine.com are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401


Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to webmaster@columbiamagazine.com. All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.